Redbubble Face Mask Review

Review of: Redbubble Face Masks

If you’re looking for unique face masks designed by independent artists, then you’re in the right place!

Click here to see the #1 trending mask on Redbubble in August 2020.

Since Redbubble masks are getting increasingly popular every month, I thought I would summarize what 150 customers had to say about them (plus I personally bought 2 adult-sized masks and 2 teen-sized masks for myself).

From how they fit, to the quality of the materials, everything you need to know about Redbubble’s face masks is right here!

My daughter loves her new mask to wear to high school. She is a junior and it’s hard to find something not too old for her or too young for her so redbubble was perfect to find just what she likes. The artist did a great job and she loves her new masks!

Karen B. on Aug 18, 2020 [RES]

Are Redbubble Masks Any Good?

Quality of Materials

When I first touched the masks with my hands, they felt really soft, a little stretchy, and similar to a t-shirt fabric.

However, when I first put one of my masks on my face just to try it on, it weirdly felt a little rough and itchy. Thankfully, as soon as I washed my masks, they felt so much softer on my face.

Overall, the prints on the mask’s fabric is on par with their shirts. The fabric has a silk like texture that feels great and is easy to clean. Overall, I would recommend getting one if your looking for a mask that will actually express your personality

Christian A. on Aug 19, 2020 [RES]

One good thing about these masks, even though some people think the material is too thin, is that they’re very breathable. These masks don’t make me feel like I’m being suffocated on really hot summer days or when I’m walking really fast at work.

These masks also don’t make me sweat like other masks, like the N95 masks (Amazon).

Great mask to wear all day!

I love the Redbubble masks! The material is so soft and they don’t make my face sweat. I can wear them all day and I don’t get ‘maskne’. The wash really well in a lingerie bag in the washer. Love all the different designs to choose from.

Jen W. on Aug 5, 2020 [RES]

Quality of Print

Even though I’m usually very picky with print quality, I really can’t complain about the print quality on Redubble’s face masks.

Considering the design is printed on fabric, I found the designs on my masks were sharp enough for my liking. I also found that the colors were vibrant.

Loved the masks I ordered !!

They are so comfortable and the print is so vibrant and the masks are really good quality overall they are great !!

Leila D. on Jul 21, 2020 [RES]

I ordered 5 masks. All are excellent quality and fit nicely. Designs are very original. I will order more from the wide selection of beautiful designs; very difficult to make a choice. Prompt delivery.

ANNA G. on Aug 3, 2020 [RES]

Size & Fit

Update: August 21, 2020

When I wrote this article, Redbubble only had adult-sized masks. Since then, Redbubble has added the new teen-sized masks (which adults with smaller faces, like me, will also enjoy) and kid-sized masks.

I don’t know if I have a smaller than average face (I always thought my head was slightly bigger than average), but I personally don’t like the fit of the adult-sized masks at all.

I found the masks were too big and a bit too open on the sides for my liking. And when I talked, the masks would slide down my face.

Even though the mask covers my mouth and nose enough for what it’s intentionally used for, it definitely did not look good on me due to the size.

So at first, with a simple needle and thread, I adjusted the lower parts of the ear straps to make them smaller. The reason I only stitched the lower parts of the ear straps was that if you sow the top part of the straps it can rub and irritate your cheekbones.

But then one of my friends gave me one of those mask extenders (Amazon) and I’ve been using it with all of my masks for a custom, comfortable fit. Plus, the elastics don’t hurt behind my ears anymore.

Another issue some people might have is Redbubble masks don’t have pleats. In my opinion, pleats (like the masks on Society6) really do help a mask fit better because the front expands and helps create space between your mouth and the mask.

Wish it had pleats for better fit

The masks are very nice with a fun variety of design choices. I wish they had pleats for chin and nose and or wire insert. Still I like the fabric and they are well put together.

Alexia E. on Aug 4, 2020 [RES]

So, I easily added my own pleats to my adult-sized masks by following this tutorial on YouTube. Worked like a charm! It fit and looked much better.

Update (Aug, 2020): I’m happy to say that I just bought 2 new teen-sized face masks and they’re a much better fit for my face (without having to add pleats)!

Also, I easily added adhesive nose wires (Amazon) to all my masks to make them fit better around my nose and it keeps my glasses from fogging up.

Looking good but missing one key element

The mask looks good but it would have been better if there was a stiff edge that we could shape on our nose so the mask really fit

Maurane M. on Aug 13, 2020 [RES]

Are Redbubble Masks Safe?

Redbubble masks are definitely safe to use for most people who don’t have sensitive skin or breathing problems.

However, these masks should not be worn by children under the age of 2 or people who can’t remove the mask without assistance. For children ages 2 and above, the child masks should only be worn with adult supervision.

For more information on face mask safety, please visit Redbubble’s “Mask Warnings and Disclaimers” page.

Are Redbubble Masks Effective?

These masks are only good for general public use but are not meant to be worn in medical settings where the risk of exposure to Covid-19 or other diseases is high.

If you’re wondering if these masks passed the lighter test, it did not. The lighter test is trying to blow out a lighter flame while wearing a mask. If you can’t blow out the flame, it’s thought that the mask isn’t restricting the flow of particles to guarantee protection.

It did take A LOT of effort to blow out the flame, but I was able to blow it out eventually. Meanwhile, with a medical-grade mask, I was unable to blow out the flame no matter how hard I tried.

But, keep in mind that Redbubble’s masks are much better than not wearing a mask at all.

Good quality and quirky- these masks allow you to be safe and still express a bit of individuality

simon m. on Jul 20, 2020 [RES]

For more information on face mask safety, please visit Redbubble’s “Mask Warnings and Disclaimers” page.

Warning: What’s That Smell?

When you first get your face mask, you’ll probably notice an unpleasant smell. I find my masks smelled a little like vinegar. Apparently this smell is caused by the printing process.

Fortunately, the smell will go away after you wash your mask or by letting it air out for a couple of days.

Washing Instructions

These masks are machine-washable (cold wash only), but unfortunately, the instructions say you can’t put them in the dryer. So, I’ve been washing my masks after every use and hanging them on doorknobs to let them dry.

I’ve been wearing 2 masks for 20 days, alternating between the two, and so far they’re still in great condition and the colors haven’t faded.

Great masks, well worth the money

The print quality of the masks is great, I have washed them several times and they still look good as new. The fabric is really good quality and comfortable to wear to the point where I sometimes forget to take the mask off. I didn’t like wearing masks when it was introduced but with these redbubble ones I really don’t mind at all.

Jake S. on Aug 5, 2020 [RES]

Where Do Redbubble Masks Ship From?

At the time of writing this article, small masks are only shipped from the USA. However, the other sizes are shipped from the USA, Germany, the UK, and Australia.

Please visit Redbubble’s “Product Manufacturing Info” page for up-to-date information.

They sent the wrong mask but responded quickly and sent me the correct one with quickly with no hassles! Great customer service!

James K. on Aug 17, 2020 [RES]

Conclusion: Redbubble Mask Review

Would I recommend Redbubble face masks to my family and friends?

In all honesty, it depends.

The Redbubble masks are pretty similar to the other non-medical grade masks I have bought online.

Originally, the biggest con for me was the fit of the masks. But now that they have a smaller teen-sized mask (they also have masks for kids), this smaller size fits me much better.

I definitely wouldn’t recommend buying a whole bunch of masks without trying at least one or two sizes first, just to see how they fit.

I also wouldn’t recommend these masks if you’re at a high risk of contacting people with Covid-19 or other viruses/diseases.

But for going into public spaces where you can’t be 2 meters away from each other or where there are signs that say “No Mask, No Service”, these masks suit me just fine.

These masks may not be N95 masks (Amazon), but they’re definitely better than no mask at all.

I absolutely love all the masks I’ve bought from Redbubble!! I bought them to match outfits and they are spectacular! They are so soft, not irritating, and easy to wash. Plus I get asked everyday where I got my awesome masks. I always say “Redbubble!! Because they’re the BEST!”

Janine M. on Aug 5, 2020 [RES]

Click here to see the face masks that are TRENDING RIGHT NOW on Redbubble!

So go ahead and find Redbubble masks that are uniquely you, support independent artists, and (most importantly) HAVE FUN shopping!


Resources:

  1. These customer reviews were taken from Redbubble’s customer review section. To see more of these reviews, look at this Redbubble face mask and then click on the “Read all reviews” button on the product page.